



Tasmania University Union



2016 annual elections

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission has been asked to conduct the 2016 Tasmania University Union elections, in accordance with the Constitution of the Union. The positions are:

Council

- *President
- *Postgraduate President
- *General Secretary
- *Education President
- *Sports President
- *Societies President

Campus President South

Campus President North

Campus President Cradle Coast

Student Representative Council South

Campus President South - Ex Officio

Regional Secretary

Activities Officer

Education Officer South - Ex Officio

International Students Officer

Postgraduate Representative South – Ex Officio

Welfare Officer

Women's Officer

Queer Officer

Environment Officer

Art School Representative

Conservatorium Representative

Medical School Representative

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer

Disabilities Officer

Student Representative Council North

Campus President North - Ex Officio

Regional Secretary

Activities Officer

Education Officer North - Ex Officio

International Students Officer

Welfare Officer

Environment Officer

Women's Officer

Queer Officer

Postgraduate Representative North - Ex Officio

Inveresk Representative

AMCSA Representative

Darlinghurst (Sydney) Campus Representative

Rozelle (Sydney) Campus Representative

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer

Disabilities Officer

Student Representative Council Cradle Coast

Campus President Cradle Coast - Ex Officio

Regional Secretary

Postgraduate Representative Northwest - Ex Officio

Education Officer North West - Ex Officio

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer

Welfare Officer

Postgraduate Council

Postgraduate President - Ex Officio

Vice President

Secretary

International Students Officer

Welfare Officer

Postgraduate Representative South

Postgraduate Representative North

Postgraduate Representative Northwest

Education Council

Education President – Ex Officio

Vice President

Secretary

Education Officer South

Education Officer North

Education Officer Northwest

Other Positions

 $^{\#}$ 7 Delegates to the National Union of Students

*A candidate cannot nominate for more than one of the positions marked with an asterisk.

 $^{\sharp}$ A state-wide election with no regional requirements conducted in accordance with the National Union of Students Incorporated Constitution.

No person can hold more than one elected office, with the exception of Delegate to the National Union of Students.

Elected candidates will serve a one-year term of office commencing 1 December 2016. Please note that the term of office commencing date for Delegates to the National Union of Students may differ.

Intending candidates should be aware of and abide by the current TUU Election Policy which is available on the TUU website.

Some positions have additional nomination requirements and the relevant position descriptions are available on the TUU website.

Nominations invited

Nominations are invited from students of the University and must be lodged, posted, sent by facsimile or by email (as a scanned image) so as to be received by the Returning Officer at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission before 4pm on Friday 26th August 2016. Nomination forms are available from www.tuu.com.au or the TUU Contact Centre - Sandy Bay Campus, TUU Contact Centre - Newnham Campus, Reception area - Cradle Coast Campus, TEC - see details below.

Students are advised to visit the TUU website for regional enrolment and nomination conditions for positions, as well as information for candidates.

Candidates may provide a statement of up to 900 characters in support of their nomination, and a photo of themselves, that will be published on the TUU website and may be displayed on campus notice boards. Further details of requirements can be found on the nomination form.

Voting

Polling will be conducted from Monday 12th September to Wednesday 14th September 2016. Polling places are to be advised. Polling will be open from 10am to 5pm on each of these days. Overseas students and students not in Tasmania during the polling period can visit the TEC website for details on how to vote.

Timetable

Nominations open	Thursday 11 th August 2016
Nominations close	4pm Friday 26 th August 2016
Polling period	Monday 12 th September to Wednesday 14 th September 2016
Close of ballot	5nm Wednesday 14 th September 2016

Jocelyn Chapman, Returning Officer, Tasmanian Electoral Commission — 11th August 2016